Miriam Gomberg

Do you work with intention?

When you wake up in the morning and get out of bed, what is the first thing you say to yourself? Is it,

  • “Yay it is another day and I get to go to work”
  • or is it more like “Hmmph, do I have to get up today?”

Granted, some days are better than others, however if you find yourself in the second category way too often, you should rethink your attitude or maybe even your job. I know that the “Yay” response sounds like a cheer leader, but think about what this person is expressing in her self-declaration. She is thankful to wake up and have the opportunity to make a difference at work. This person will be going to work and doing her job with intent.

Recently one of my co-workers asked me what my purpose was when I came to work that day. It was somewhat obvious by the blank look on my face that I really didn’t have a plan as to what I really needed to accomplish. When I thought about it, I realized that what she asked was not if I had a written agenda but did I come to work with some kind of a purpose in mind?

Some examples of your purpose or intention can be small, like you will smile and say hi to every person you encounter, or you will go out of your way to be nice to your coworker who has the annoying voice. Maybe you will close the big deal that has been alluding you. The choices are endless, and after all it is up to you to decide what your day will be like.

It is so much easier to do your job if you realize that you are there because you want to be. Participate actively while at work and see what a difference it makes in your daily experience.

Whatever the details of your job are, they are important not only for the value of a paycheck. Others rely on you to show up, deliver the mail, serve breakfast, lead a team, re-stack the sweaters, collect the trash… Hopefully you get the picture. What you do matters! We all have choices as to how we fill our days. You may not have the luxury to decide not to work, but where you work is your choice; make the best of it.

This entry was published on April 18, 2011 at 5:16 pm. It’s filed under Leadership, Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

