Miriam Gomberg

Ralph Waldo Emerson: Self Reliance Prompt #3

It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude. – Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

The world is powered by passionate people, powerful ideas, and fearless action. What’s one strong belief you possess that isn’t shared by your closest friends or family? What inspires this belief, and what have you done to actively live it?

(Author: Buster Benson)

What is my passion?

Wow! This prompt is by far the hardest one I have done so far. I have many beliefs and like to think that I share some of them with my family.

I believe that my voyage into the blogosphere has become one of my greatest passions. If you would have asked me one year ago if I would ever consider blogging, I would have laughed hysterically until I peed my pants. I never thought much about writing, it was a necessity as a student. Writing for some other purpose was way outside of my box.

Bring it on!

As a personal challenge, I enrolled in a personal branding course at the University of Nevada Reno this past semester. I learned to blog, tweet. I also cleaned up my Facebook account by turning off Farmville (yes, it was hard for me. I was on level 80) and joined groups on LinkedIn. I soon discovered my love of social media and blogging in particular.

One of my greatest gifts is my ability to connect with people by sharing experiences with them. To the chagrin of my children, I talk to complete strangers (part of a sales background, can’t be helped) and make friends easily. Discovering a personal brand and finding a niche has been hard, but I knew that I had something to say.

Blabber on!

At this point, blogging is still new and exciting (started February 2011). It is great to see people actually want to read my posts. Friends know that regularly I talk to myself  and consider blogging to be an extension of my inner monologue. No one else in my family or my circle of friends blog. Robert and the kids respect that blogging has become a passion of mine.

Inspiration comes from everywhere; reading others’ posts, conversations on Facebook, LinkedIn groups, and Twitter are a constant source of material. Shopping with my kids or by myself gives me inspiration for posts on customer focus and sales. Experiences at work are a great inspiration as well.

Lesson learned: I love blogging!

I was ecstatic when Dr Simmons, my personal branding professor, offered me the opportunity to get more credit for continuing my blog. How awesome was that? After spending the past semester putting the whole thing together, I could not imagine letting it go. Getting credit for it was the icing on the cake. My belief in blogging is here to stay!

 

 

 

This entry was published on June 3, 2011 at 12:37 am. It’s filed under Self Reliance Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Ralph Waldo Emerson: Self Reliance Prompt #3

  1. Thanks for sharing! I too have found that blogging can be a great way to share my thoughts. It hasn’t quite turned into a passion, but I’m hoping that this campaign will help me write more, write better and help share thoughts and opinions others may not know or have.

    • Welcome Gregory. One thing I love about this challenge is that I am meeting all kinds of great people (you included). It will be interesting to see what kind of results we will achieve from these exercises. Miriam

Leave a Reply

