Miriam Gomberg

Ralph Waldo Emerson: Self Reliance Post #7

Five Years by Corbett Barr

There will be an agreement in whatever variety of actions, so they be each honest and natural in their hour. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

What would you say to the person you were five years ago? What will you say to the person you’ll be in five years?

(Author: Corbett Barr)

Let’s begin six years ago (I can’t count)

A lot has happened in five years I never could have foreseen. Through what could be called a Butterfly Effect, I changed my destiny by closing my business six years ago. Instead of sitting in a hole wallowing in self-pity, my husband Robert suggested (OK he actually dragged me kicking and screaming) that I go back to school and complete a degree.

Now its five years ago

Fast forward one year later, and I was a full-time student at the University of Nevada Reno. I had not worked in over a year, volunteered for my daughter Avery’s cheer squad and loved every minute of it. I was still trying to determine what course my career would take once I graduated.

If I could go back in time, I would tell “past me” I would be OK, but that I need to plan better for my future. It is true that the journey is more important than where you go, but have some sort of destination in mind from the start.

Five years from now

The greatest piece of advice I can give “future me” is to take better care of myself. floss my teeth, don’t eat too much junk food, and continue exercising. In five years I will be almost 50! I don’t want to have spent all this effort on self actualization and education only to completely fall apart physically.

Lesson learned: don’t focus on who you were or who you might be

The future will take care of itself. I am doing the things I feel necessary in order to ensure success. Of course, success is relative. Take it from someone who has reinvented herself many times over; tomorrow is another day and a new beginning. Let go of the past, embrace the present and plan for the future.

This entry was published on June 8, 2011 at 8:33 pm. It’s filed under Self Reliance Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Ralph Waldo Emerson: Self Reliance Post #7

  1. Great advice to yourself and I had to chuckle over the floss your teeth bit.
    It is actually very important as a way to maintain dental health… 🙂

  2. Thanks for your comment! My dentist would be so proud right now. Flossing is entirely underrated and overlooked by many of us. 😀

  3. Very inspiring indeed!

    As someone who will be just turning 51 5 years from now, I particularly liked the “take care of yourself” portion!

    Thank you!

    Respectfully,
    Paul Castain

    PS I promise to floss more too 🙂

    • Paul, thanks for your comment! Where does all of the time go? I swear I will turn around and five years will have flown by already. The take care of yourself portion is a good idea at any age. Miriam

Leave a Reply

