Miriam Gomberg

#trust30 prompt: wholly strange and new

Wholly Strange and New by Bridget Pilloud

When good is near you, when you have life in yourself, it is not by any known or accustomed way; you shall not discern the foot-prints of any other; you shall not see the face of man; you shall not hear any name;—— the way, the thought, the good, shall be wholly strange and new. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Can you remember a moment in your life when you had life in yourself and it was wholly strange and new? Can you remember the moment when you stopped walking a path of someone else, and started cutting your own?

Write about that moment. And if you haven’t experienced it yet, let the miracle play out in your mind’s eye and write about that moment in your future.

(Author: Bridget Pilloud)

When I opened my business and no longer depended on my parent’s financial support, I emerged as my own person. Granted, they did help set me up in the store and my mom worked for me for many years,  but I was now an adult facing life on my own. Buying decisions, hiring decisions, which bills to pay and when, all came down on my shoulders.

There were times when the responsibility would overwhelm me. There were times when I worked for free (years, in fact where I didn’t get paid) but it was solely my path.

I don’t regret any part of my life that has added to the journey whether it was positive or negative. The business has been closed for nearly 6 years now, and there are days where I miss my shop. I don’t regret closing it either as it also added to the journey that led to a higher education.

I think that as an adult with a lot of life experience, I tend to not want to walk on another persons path. I prefer to walk side by side.

 

This entry was published on June 15, 2011 at 8:48 am. It’s filed under Self Reliance Prompts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “#trust30 prompt: wholly strange and new

  1. You did a lovely job on this one. 🙂

  2. Elizabeth, I am glad you liked it! Miriam

Leave a Reply

