Miriam Gomberg

#trust30 10 ways to invent my future

my serious thinking face, while I invent my future

Invent the Future by Cindy Gallop

A man should learn to detect and watch that gleam of light which flashes across his mind from within, more than the lustre of the firmament of bards and sages. Yet he dismisses without notice his thought, because it is his. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

My favorite quote of all time is Alan Kay: ‘In order to predict the future, you have to invent it.’ I am all about inventing the future. Decide what you want the future to be and make it happen. Because you can. Write about your future now.

(Author: Cindy Gallop)

Hmm… (long pause here while I put on a serious thinking face and tap my fingers on the keyboard). I like the idea of becoming proactive in inventing my future. I have an internal locus of control which means that I take responsibility for  my actions and subsequent consequences. Luckily I am flexible and understand there must always be a plan B. So here is my list!

In the future, I will:

  1.  stay active as long as I live. In order to do so, it would be prudent to stay in shape which entails: eat right (losing weight right now), continue exercising, keep riding my bike and doing yoga. My dad is diabetic and I will do all that I can to ensure not to follow down that path.
  2.  remain married for as long as I live. In order to do so, I must remember how important maintaining the relationship is. We must continue dating, even when we are old and keep the romance alive.
  3.  find a job that brings me joy. In order to do so and stay competitive, I am completing an advanced degree. I will never be done learning
  4. continue blogging until my fingers fall off. I love blogging and can’t see myself ever stopping.
  5. keep dying my hair until I am at least 70. No one will ever see gray on my head, until I am good and ready!
  6. support both of my children so that they can obtain a college education. My daughter Avery is already a junior at UNR (I hate admitting I have a 20 year old) and Sam still has 5 years left before he starts. This is so that they can take care of me in a way I am accustomed when I become old and crazy.
  7. remain true to who I am. One thing I have discovered is that I like being me and have no intention of changing my core.
  8. maintain friendships and stay close to family. As I get older, I realize how important it is to have a few really good friends.
  9. never stop learning. I don’t think that at this point I want to get a doctorate once I am finished with my MBA, but I should never rule out the possibility. Learning keeps my brain young and gives me more to share with my family and friends.
  10. I don’t really have a plan for #10, but I thought it looked better if I rounded out the list 😀

How far into the future should I invent? As far as planning for retirement, it is never too early. I have been putting away money in a 401k for years now. I also planned well by marrying Robert and deciding to live within our means rather than to rack up debt. This prompt definitely gave me food for thought. I can’t wait to see what is next!

This entry was published on June 16, 2011 at 11:35 pm. It’s filed under Self Reliance Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “#trust30 10 ways to invent my future

  1. I love your list of ten things for the future… I couldn’t wrap my head around this one as I’d already written something from Daily Post on future plans… 🙂 Great job!
    I have gifted three Blog Awards to You! Feel free to post them on your blog and share them.
    Have a Happy Summer! 🙂
    Elizabeth

  2. Elizabeth, wow! and thanks for the blog awards. I am feeling a bit stupid right now and don’t know how to get them and put them on my home page. I will look at your blog and see if they are there. Miriam

Leave a Reply

