Miriam Gomberg

Show some enthusiasm! #trust30

Avery's cheerleader box

Enthusiasm by Mars Dorian

Trust thyself: every heart vibrates to that iron string. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.” is a great line from Emerson. If there’s no enthusiasm in what you do, it won’t be remarkable and certainly won’t connect with people on an emotional basis. But, if you put that magic energy into all of your work, you can create something that touches people on a deeper level. How can you bring MORE enthusiasm into your work? What do you have to think or believe about your work to be totally excited about it? Answer it now.

(Author: Mars Dorian)

What is enthusiasm?

Admittedly, the first thought that ran through my head was that enthusiasm = FAKE!  Like a cheerleader shouting at you trying to engage you in a football game in which your team is losing. So I did what I typically do when uninspired by a prompt; look up a key word in the dictionary. I normally don’t post what I find in the, but this definition moved me.

enthusiasm |enˈθoōzēˌazəm|
noun
1 intense and eager enjoyment, interest, or approval : her energy and enthusiasm for life | few expressed enthusiasm about the current leaders.
a thing that arouses such feelings : the three enthusiasms of his life were politics, religion, and books.
2 archaic derogatory religious fervor supposedly resulting directly from divine inspiration, typically involving speaking in tongues and wild, uncoordinated movements of the body.
ORIGIN early 17th cent. ( in sense 2) : from French enthousiasme, or via late Latin from Greek enthousiasmos, from enthous ‘possessed by a god, inspired’ (based on theos ‘god’ ).  Oxford English Dictionary

As a customer experience leader, I strive to motivate both the staff and my customers each day. In order for me to do so, I need to believe in what I am selling. This goes way beyond whether I like a product, and into the realm of believing in the company and the leadership that I work for. When I question a company’s ethics, it is impossible for me to remain authentic in selling their product or brand.

I  generally communicate by sharing a piece of myself in hope of connecting on a deeper personal level. I often relate through story telling and ask others to share of themselves in return. Because this communication method is natural for me, I remain genuine and believable.

More please…

Now, back to the prompt. How do I bring more enthusiasm to work? I need to believe that what I do and how I do it is important and adds value. If I feel undervalued and unappreciated, I don’t want to give more of myself to the cause. If I feel as though a project is redundant and useless, I cannot easily convey a sense of enthusiasm to others. In my mind, it is an authentic experience that inspires both myself and others.

Servant leadership is a great example of managers inspiring employees. A great article by one of my professors at the University of Nevada, defines a servant leader as “someone that views herself as a resource to help employees achieve remarkable results, not the source, or oracle from which all leadership wisdom and direction must emanate.” Dr. Bret Simmons.

The achievement of results can be understood as sales or production but I prefer thinking figuratively.  If the leadership that directs me is concerned chiefly with my well-being and ultimate success,  I will be able to spread that feeling to my subordinates. Do I think that somewhere in an ivory tower a CEO is interested in a lower level manager somewhere in the field? Absolutely! It is all of the field employees that help make the business a reality. Without them, there is nothing left but an empty shell.

Like a pebble rolling downhill in the snow, the enthusiasm snowballs as it continues through the ranks. Through my excitement, others follow. Because what I ask of the staff is as important as what I am doing, they develop a sense of pride in their work. When they are gratified, so am I. The circle of appreciation and recognition is complete but also unending.

This entry was published on June 21, 2011 at 12:32 pm. It’s filed under Leadership, Sales, Self Reliance Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Show some enthusiasm! #trust30

  1. Interesting… I can’t imagines doing anything well without a modicum of enthusiasm. Did I miss this one? 🙂

Leave a Reply

