Miriam Gomberg

A moment of alive-ness #trust30

Alive-est by Sam Davidson

where you are most alive?

Nothing is at last sacred but the integrity of your own mind. If we follow the truth, it will bring us out safe at last. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

When did you feel most alive recently? Where were you? What did you smell? What sights and sounds did you experience? Capture that moment on paper and recall that feeling. Then, when it’s time to create something, read your own words to reclaim a sense of being to motivate you to complete a task at hand. (Author: Sam Davidson)

Alive-est in motion?

This prompt was much more difficult than I originally thought it would be. When do I feel alive? At first I tried to imagine what brought me to life at work. Customer experience is like breathing in that it is effortless and natural. I thrive while connecting with internal and external customers, but that is not where I truly feel alive-est.

I love going to school and learning, which is why I am ready to graduate with an MBA this December. I passionately participate in class discussions on a regular basis, but as excited as I may become throughout the process, it is not when I am alive-est either.

Exercise is important to my well-being. If I don’t have time to exercise at least a couple of times each week, I become increasingly stressed. Going to the gym is both time for social interaction and exercise. I chat with friends before, during and after a Body Pump class. Riding my bike with friends or my husband is a blast! But, it is not where I am alive-est.

Alive-est in stillness

After grumbling on the phone to my friend Kelli that I could not perceive a moment when I feel most alive, the idea suddenly came to me. I am not alive-est in motion at all? I enjoy traveling, shopping, learning, blogging, talking, listening, teaching, dancing, the list goes on…

The moment when I feel alive-est is in the morning while laying in bed, as I begin to wake. During summer, we sleep with the windows open so we can enjoy fresh air and a cool breeze. There are a couple of loud chirping birds outside our window every morning that cause me to stir slightly. Morning sun streams in lightly through the open window.

In my groggy state, I turn over and Robert (my husband, love of my life, etc.) nestles up against me. At this very moment, I feel my body energize with a warm glowing light. His familiar scent fills my being. I understand the moment will soon pass as we get up and start the day. For these few minutes each morning, I am truly alive.

Lesson learned: treasure the quiet moments

Next time I sense stress gathering in my neck and shoulders from some unforeseen difficulty, I will recreate this memory of tranquility and stillness. We all need a happy place to go to in times of uncertainty or trouble. Fortunately for me, I revisit this place most mornings.

This entry was published on June 27, 2011 at 8:48 pm. It’s filed under Self Reliance Prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “A moment of alive-ness #trust30

  1. Good job… You finally came to your answer. I’m alive when I am doing things I enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

