Miriam Gomberg
Madonna who?

What makes you original? Vlog 2 #trust30

Who didn't want to be like her?

“The arts and inventions of each period are only its costume, and do not invigorate men.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Can anyone say skinny jeans?

What is an original thought? What does it matter if there is such a thing as a cutting edge, original thinker? As a Gen X‘er, I have seen fads and fashions recycle. In high school, I was part of the unconventional “New Wave” movement. For example I dressed in hand-pegged pants that were so tight I had to lay on the bed to get them on or off.

Now, I wear skinnies again. For a modern look, they are no longer acid wash or sit above my navel (eww). Was it original when I wore them in the 80’s? Probably not. If you watch the movie Quadrophenia by The Who (1973), you will see a bunch of mod kids dressing like I did,only 10 years earlier.

In the 80’s, I had big poufy hair held in place with headbands created from toilet paper. This was my homage to the greatest icon of my generation, Madonna. Yup, I used to embarrass mom and dad when I sported this ridiculous hairdo around town. The headbands themselves were not original, but my personal take on a staple was innovative.

Lesson learned: it doesn’t have to be original, just authentic.

It is OK that I may not have groundbreaking thoughts. We can’t all be Madonna, although I wouldn’t mind (she looks fantastic still and continues creating new and original content). What is important is that I remain authentic and unafraid to take chances. Fashion comes and goes, but toilet paper is still with us. 😀

Madonna who?


#trust30 prompt: Think of the last time that you thought, said, or did something that was original. What inspired or invigorated this? (Author: Michael Brajkovich)

This entry was published on July 19, 2011 at 10:36 pm. It’s filed under Leadership, Personal Brand, Self Reliance Prompts, VLOG and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “What makes you original? Vlog 2 #trust30

  1. I loved that film and Madonna’s music… Those were heady days and I have good memories of it… as well as sad ones of opportunities missed. 🙂 Loved the vlog.

  2. Thanks Elizabeth! I saw it at least 3 times in the theater alone. I’m glad you liked my video post 😀 Miriam

  3. Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and fantastic style and design.

Leave a Reply

