Miriam Gomberg

I Brake for Snakes!

Last week was my 44th birthday which was one of my better birthdays on record. I got to spend an entire day with loved ones, doing things I enjoy. For starters, I went on a bike ride with my husband Robert, son Sam, and best friend Yvonne. Life was good. We commenced single file around the corner when Yvonne noticed something black and yellow laying in the gutter; a snake.


What in the heck just happened here?

She did not cry out in fear of the snake, as it appeared to be dead. It was more of a curious nature as she shifted her bike outward to stop and get a better look. This is when the story changed from the wonderful planned ride, to my screaming in agony as I collided into Yvonne’s bike and landed sideways in the road.

Other than a broken helmet (this is why I wear one, and you should too) a couple of bruises, some road-rash on my shoulder and a sore neck, I was OK. I was scared from the fall, embarrassed because I sat there crying for about 5 minutes and lots of concerned neighbors stopped to ask if I needed help.

The important thing was that I got back on my bike and completed the ride.It would have been easy for me to turn around and limp back to my house (2 minutes from the scene of the crash) and nurse my superficial wounds while gaining pity from those involved (i.e. Yvonne).

a great ride with Sam on Windy Hill in Reno

Lesson(s) learned: don’t take your eye off the road for something trivial and if you do, get back up and keep moving forward.

If you take your eyes off the road because of something you see, think or feel, the distraction may cause you to crash. Believe me, crashing is no fun, but it is not that big of a deal either when you are barely moving. A week later, we all continue laughing when anyone shouts “snake” while we are riding or for any other reason.

Think of your life as a wonderful journey that can quickly change directions at a moments notice. Are you prepared for those changes or do you crash because of them? Either way, it is OK! Changes in the road distract from monotony. It is how you deal with them that matters.

Pick yourself up from the side of the road where you may be further injured by others and always keep going forward.

This entry was published on August 8, 2011 at 6:16 am. It’s filed under Random, VLOG and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “I Brake for Snakes!

  1. Keep your eye on the road no matter what is great advice especially in the summer months when more inexperienced drivers are on the road. Hope you are doing better; you are getting out there and riding which is awesome! Happy Belated Birthday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

