Miriam Gomberg

learning to get over myself in #28days

????????????????

As I sit here thinking about my latest adventure into a group trying to escape mediocrity, I think of several questions. What are the ingredients to success? Why do some achieve while others fail? Now that my goal of finishing a higher education is complete what will be next? I could get used to places like La Costa

My head is swimming (but not with the mermaids yet) with opportunities, mischief and tied down by responsibility. Some adventures will wait until my youngest (14 year old Sam) is ready to let me go. An exercise prescribed by Sarah Robinson, creator and facilitator of Escaping Mediocrity, is to list 5 people who prevent me from pursuing
what I desire. Next I describe precisely what these people are keeping me from in the first place.

I don’t blame others for my insecurities. They surely exist but for the most part  originate from fear of abandonment and/or rejection. So, instead I wanted to simply skip to part 3 of the exercise and list what I really want to achieve in the next 6-12 months.

another great adventure

 

  1. I want to spend more quality time with my family.
  2. I want to travel more and work less, while still earning an income.
  3. I want to exercise regularly
  4. I want to grow professionally.
  5. I want to blog more.

It was more intense than I expected thinking of and writing this list. Now that it is officially listed, it is time for strategy and action. If I were able to choose one desire off the list that spoke to me the loudest it is a combination of 1 and 2. If I were able to work less and travel more, I would also have more time to spend with my family. I believe these come hand in hand.

Step one completed

Each day I am participating in a new exercise in order to escape mediocrity. Join me on this journey of self discovery. What is on your list and what is stopping you from doing it? Share your thoughts and stories.

 

This entry was published on February 2, 2012 at 10:09 pm. It’s filed under Personal Brand, Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “learning to get over myself in #28days

  1. Hi Miriam,
    I’ll have to do the exercise but I’m happy to see that you’ve picked up the challenge. Although each person has their own definition you can achieve one and two by simply deciding that work can survive without you. Easier said than done but once you separate crisis form merely being involved, you have it. I’ll let you when I can do that.

  2. Barry, that is really profound! I agree that it is hard to take myself out completely. I have a 14 year old son who is bipolar and I often feel guilt that I am not there for him as much as I should be. I don’t blame him for needing me, and he understands why I must work. There has to be a way to achieve balance. Maybe together we will find it. Thanks for your comment. Miriam

  3. I am definitely going also for #2…..that’s a hard one, but I (we, my husband and I) have managed a pretty nice formula of taking one big vacation a year and multiple multiple long weekends throughout the year. At least every three months we’re off somewhere for a 3 day excursion. We both work and we really still need that income 😦

  4. Interesting challenge Miriam… I kept thinking, but I don’t want to get over myself and neither should Miriam… What does that even mean? If you were an egotistical bore… maybe. But you are charming, smart, caring and all. Sadly, the folk who really need to “get over themselves” won’t take the challenge… Kudos for caring! 🙂

    • Eliz, thanks for your kind words. I think that what I meant is that the only thing stopping me from achieving my goals is me. I like to think that I am not a pompous ass, but this will probably turn into getting over fear (rejection, abandonment are my two favorites). Thanks again for stopping by. Miriam

  5. Hi Miriam.. I wanted to tell you that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award.. come read this post for more info http://www.bipolar2happiness.com/more-versatile-blogger-awards/

    Hope things are good for you all!! Hugs

Leave a Reply

