Miriam Gomberg

Building a Myth on Klout

What constitutes social influence and how do you get it? How important is it anyway? The dictionary defines influence as:

noun

  • 1 [mass noun] the capacity to have an effect on the character, development, or behaviour of someone or something, or the effect itself: the influence of television violence I was still under the influence of my parents [count noun]: their friends are having a bad influence on them
  • the power to shape policy or ensure favourable treatment from someone, especially through status, contacts, or wealth: the institute has considerable influence with teachers Oxford English Dictionary

Welcome to the mythical world of influence according to Klout.lobster queen is born

Actually, I owe Klout a debt of gratitude for leading me to one of my dearest friends Pamela Morse whom I met through the social networking site LinkedIn. Pamela was instrumental in my discovery of the K+ game played on Klout, which is where you tag friends with a topic of influence.

A select group of fellow #kloutjuicers and I spend a few minutes per day recognizing each other for influential topics, by awarding K+ and broadcasting it on Twitter or Facebook. The sillier the subject, the less likely there will be others on the list, and the better chance you have of becoming the #1topic authority.

Tag you’re it!

Currently I am the #1 influencer of Lobster. The really boring version of why is that I saw a post about a man who was shoplifting in a grocery store. In a hurry to get out unseen, he shoved a live lobster down his pants. Several impressions later, I became the lobster queen.

Once, my rank in lobster slipped to #2, and Pam graciously announced on Twitter that was a travesty that needed immediate remedy. Hence, people came out of the Twitersphere donning me with K+ so that I could maintain my status.

What could possibly be more influential than that? Getting people to respond/react to something completely meaningless is a great form of influence.

OK, I am not the first (or last) to write about Klout or their perception of your social influence. I am surprised there are not many (if any) posts about building your myth around Klout.

Like a big fish, I became the myth

Somehow I transformed from a professional customer experience manager into Mimi the Lobster Queen. My life is forever changed as I continue doing Spreecasts outfitted in a red sequined mermaid costume with long blonde hair and a seashell crown.

A few weeks ago, I participated in a Reno event, Cirque Du Mar as Mimi. The reason this event was pivotal is because this is where the myth became complete. Pam and I decided that if we were to be in character, we needed to understand where we came from.

Sebastian and Lana

After careful consideration, the myth of my heritage was born. Sebastian, who some think is a crab, is my father. Unfortunately, he has been maligned as a crab when in reality he was in a kitchen accident that left him without a tail. My mermaid mother is Lana Turner, the famous movie star.

The point here is that I do not take myself or my influence seriously. It is all a big game which is best played with friends. In general, I believe people need to chill out where Klout is concerned and have fun with it instead. You never know what your myth can become.

Mimi goes shopping at Smiths

This entry was published on May 18, 2012 at 12:38 pm. It’s filed under Personal Brand, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Building a Myth on Klout

  1. Pamela Morse on said:

    One K leads to another, and before you know it, your influence precedes you. The K game has introduced us to so many cool peeps, like all those shrinks from Russia who give us K in Carl Jung. There is a big wide world of K’s to give, and you just don’t know how they could change someone’s life. I say just give K.

    • Agreed Pam! I have loads of fun boosting others klout scores with k+ and other mentions. I think my next post will be about how they missed the boat on the whole mermaid trend. 🙂

  2. It is all a big game. 😉

Leave a Reply

