Miriam Gomberg

the shopping experience of a lifetime

Let the shopping begin!

Who here loves shopping or knows what clothes look nice on you? I’m not talking about one of those dated color wheels, but what styles best show off your figure. For every person who enjoys trying things on and making purchases there is probably two others who either fear or abhor it (or both).

Believe it or not, shopping is an art which takes years of practice to perfect. People tend to go at it haphazardly without any real plan, which is fine if you know what you are doing. For the rest of you, it is best to either bring an expert (like me) to keep you focused and on task, or at least have a strategy in place before leaving the house.

Now for the personal part of the post

A couple of weeks ago I volunteered to take a friend shopping. I have years of retail experience and have a good fashion sense. Plus I live only about 1.5 hours away from her. She was admittedly fashion challenged.

This friend was way overdue for a shopping trip. It had been over a year since she last bought an outfit. I made it a personal goal to start her a wardrobe in which she could build on. This trip was all about fundamental pieces that we all need.

the journey over the mountain

It should be no surprise to you that I left the house later than expected. When it comes to something critical, I am usually on time, but for anything social, half an hour late is the rule rather than the exception.

On top of my poor punctuality practices, I was born without the gene that gives one a general sense of direction. It is not like I haven’t been to Sacramento before, but I still worried that I would take the wrong exit to the Roseville Galleria.

Worse than my sense of bearing, is my ability to follow others directions. What should have been a cake walk, became an ordeal as I was hopelessly lost. How I am able to lead others is beyond me. With the aid of cellphone technology and my friend, i was eventually able to navigate my way to the mall.

let the shopping begin!

After stopping at the food court for lunch, we were ready to hit the stores and conquer them one by one. There was a devised plan that would take the better part of the day, I was up for the challenge.

With our sleeves rolled up (OK, I was actually wearing a strapless sundress) we set out to find our first item. The perfect shade of coral lipstick.

prepare yourself for part 2

I decided that this story is too good to write a simple paragraph about. So, I am trying something new. Leaving you all in suspense, I will continue the tale on a completely separate post.

This is a great exercise in delayed gratification (something I try my best not to practice). Just so you know, after the day was over, we were still friends, so there is nothing to worry about. No missing limbs either. Just two tired shoppers, ready to call it a day.

Stay tuned for part 2. Coming soon!

This entry was published on July 29, 2012 at 6:30 am. It’s filed under Customer Focus, Personal Brand, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “the shopping experience of a lifetime

  1. I can imagine the … ahem… complications. 😆

  2. Eliz, it just gets better from here.

Leave a Reply

