Miriam Gomberg

a girls’ birthday weekend getaway

I wonder if it is normal how easily I make friends? Perhaps I am emotionally unguarded (been told that before) and let people into my heart too quickly. I prefer to think of this ability as a gift rather than a hindrance. If you don’t accept new friends, life’s journey can become dull.

spa day birthdayweekend comic strip

In the past couple of years, I have been fortunate enough to meet some amazing people through social networking. Most of these friendships remain solely via the internet or phone because of logistics, but I have had occasion to meet up with a few of my Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter friends in real life.

girls weekend in the making

Last weekend I took part in a sensational weekend getaway planned with friends Sherree Worrell and Denise Barlow. These are two fabulous women I met in an online community we hashtagged #crcnav (circumnavigators). Both Sherree and I were celebrating birthday’s within two weeks of each other. We decided a birthday bash weekend was as good a reason as any to get together for some girl-time fun.

Several months ago, another good friend Pamela Morse, showed me the value in a great spa day (treatments, pools, lounging, etc.).  It was now time for me to take these lessons in pampering and share the love. Our weekend getaway took place at the Peppermill Resort in Reno (yeah I know I live there).

Each of us booked a spa package which included a citrus full-body scrub, spa pedicure and finished off with spray on bronzing. In between treatments, we would lounge by the pool, while eating lunch and sipping on cucumber infused water. Such a life, I could get used to.

a perfect weekend

OK. I am not a firm believer in perfection, but this weekend getaway was pretty close. I was able to spend time bonding with my girlfriends, pampering myself and completely relaxing. Stress literally melted away as I was scrubbed down from head to toe with a delicious  citrus scented body scrub.

Sunday was spent lounging by the pool with a mermaid fountain smack in the middle of it. I considered wearing my new goldfish tail and making a mermaid splash myself, but opted to forgo the tail for a more conventional bikini.

Again, we lunched poolside with delicious Cobb Salads. I brought my laptop and wrote a post while siting under an umbrella. Other than that and the regular Foursquare check ins, we all attempted to remain unplugged throughout the weekend. That was no easy feat for any of us; especially because we are all technology dependent.

blogging poolside

Surprisingly, we even turned our cellphones off while at the spa placing them in lockers. Honestly, I can’t recall the last time my phone was in the off position except to reboot. What a liberating experience it turned out to be!

lesson learned: take time to renew the senses

As I get older, I find it more enjoyable to surround myself with stillness. Ten years ago, I would not have felt a birthday weekend would have been complete without a party or something else to keep me in constant motion.

As a child, I rated birthdays based on quality and quantity of gifts. Now, gifts are not the end goal for me (although I still accept them freely). A glass of wine, dip in the pool, cozy spa robe, mmm… How could it possibly get better than that?

I am not getting older, just learning what I need and desire to enjoy life better. What details would make your birthday weekend bash extraordinary? Please share your thoughts and stories about your ultimate getaway.

good times at the pool

 

This entry was published on August 11, 2012 at 11:50 pm. It’s filed under Memories..., Personal Brand, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “a girls’ birthday weekend getaway

  1. Your event comes pretty close… I’d love a bash that is zany, fun and unforgettable too. 🙂
    “Happy Birthday to you all! 🙂
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜
    ¸¸.•*¨*•░H░A░P░P░Y░(¯`’•.¸ *♥♥♥* ¸.•’´¯) ░B░I░R░ T░H░D░A░Y░ (¯`’•.¸*♥♥♥*¸.•’´¯) Hope you enjoyed YOUR special day!
    ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦╦═╣╚╣╚╦╝╠═╦╦╗
    ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║╬║║╔╣╔╣║║╬║╬║║║
    ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚═╩╩╝╚═╩╩╩═╩╩╩╗║
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Birthday .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥Happy Birthday to youuuuu ♪♫•*¨*•.¸.•*¨*•♫
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

Leave a Reply

