Miriam Gomberg

my little porch ponies

welcome to the porch party

For the past 3 decades, I have called Nevada home. Moving to Reno, from Santa Barbara  as a 12 year old was not my choice. After attending middle school, high school and then college in Reno, I couldn’t wait to get out and move on up to the big city.

get me outta here!

It only took a couple of years in LA to realize that smaller cities like Reno have special lifestyle benefits. True, Reno was lacking certain cultural advantages, but the skiing, cycling, mild weather, wildlife and mountain views are a serious bonus. In essence, the draw back to Nevada was too great to ignore.

wild wild west

Did I mention the wildlife here? We have your typical varieties of ducks, geese, bunnies, marmots, and deer. We are also home to many herds of mustangs (not the car!). My children attend(ed) Damonte Ranch High School where the mustang reigns as school mascot.

On occasion, a few horses wander by the school to eat the lawn. How many school mascots are really tromping around campus? For the most part, the horses reside in the hills behind the school, but living in the desert means that food is often scarce, so rather than starve, they venture to town for sustenance.

enter the porch party ponies

Recently, a small mustang herd has been foraging on my street. A couple of weeks ago when I was returning home from the gym, I spotted at least 15 munching grass, resting  and leaving a trail of poop just a few houses away from mine.

pony block party

I quickly parked the Camry in the garage and strolled around the corner to take pictures. These horses were wild, but because they haven’t been harmed by humans, they were mostly unafraid of me as I snapped pics with my phone. I couldn’t believe how I could approach these majestic creatures so closely.

Today I was leaving for an errand with Sam when upon opening the garage door, I noticed several of the local mustang crowd milling around. With phone in hand (of course), I grabbed a few apples off the counter. After all, they were doing me a service by eating the lawn, so we could avoid mowing. The least I could do was repay the kindness with something sweet.

a little kindness goes a long way

I realize many would frown upon feeding the wild horses apples. It is probably not my place to reward them for entering the neighborhood, eating the grass, and leaving a trail of meadow muffins (or road apples if you prefer). My question is what harm is it to show another living being kindness?

A bale of hay was placed in a neighbor’s driveway for drive-by horsie snacks. Another neighbor welcomed the horses by parking in the middle of the street honking his horn at them. Really??? If he scared the mustangs, they might run into a busy street and get hurt.

I’m not sure how I feel about all of the wild horse roundups going on right now. I understand humans feel the need to control the mustang population. We wouldn’t want mustangs running amok everywhere.

My biggest concern is for their well-being. I don’t want to think of the horses as being slaughtered for dog food or abused in any form. We built on their land and forced them into the hills. Why can’t we just leave them be?

For now, I will enjoy the view in my wild west suburban neighborhood. My friend has apples falling off her trees and I now have an idea of how to unload some of them. I can’t wait for my next porch pony party. More pics are sure to follow.

this horse is wild. not a stunt.

This entry was published on October 4, 2012 at 5:50 am. It’s filed under Memories..., Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “my little porch ponies

  1. Wild? I suspect they view themselves as house pets by now… 😆 Love the photos.

    • Some of them will let me touch them, where others move away when I get too close. If they are rounded up, I only hope they are adopted to good families and not killed. They are kinda like pets to us.

  2. Wish they would visit my street – amazing perk of your locale.

Leave a Reply

