Miriam Gomberg

what should I wear?

searching in the closet of doom

Let’s be honest here; how many times do you change clothes before finally walking out the door? Once or twice (that’s me) or more? On a good day, I will pull an outfit out of the closet, put it on and leave the house. Unfortunately, for the most part, I change tops, bottoms, jewelry and/or shoes at least once before commencing the day.

am I really that indecisive?

Does anyone even notice what I am wearing, or is it all in my head? What difference does it make if I wear pants or a dress? If no one is looking at what I am wearing and I am not attempting to snag a man, I should cut daily outfit rituals in half.

Each day I jump out of bed, shower then stand there in my undies looking in the closet. After about five minutes, I pull a pair of pants and a top that go together. Top #1 pulls (a hazard of having a full bust), so it goes away and another is chosen, etc. I tend to choose an ensemble based on day of the week.

which day is it again?

Monday and Tuesday are office days so I wear heels. I know what you are thinking, why would a klutz like me bother with high heels? Working as a retail manager  stilettos and wedges tend to to sit in the closet unworn. Comfort is king when it comes to walking the sales floor over and over.

Because I feel forced on some level to wear low comfy shoes, I relish any opportunity to spice it up with heels and a cute dress. The difficulty is that once I make the decision to forgo flats, I cannot walk the floor more than a couple of times before wanting to throw my shoes down the hall.

The remainder of the week I become increasingly more casual until the weekend when I live in sneakers and jeans. It is not the professional image I wish to portray, but if I work Saturday and Sunday, I know I will be running the entire day.

throwing a curveball

Getting dressed for work is an ordeal in itself. Imagine the drama when I have a function to attend… Oy veh! If an invitation does not include a dress code, I become lost. Is it better to over or under dress for the occasion? What is a girl to do?

I recently attended a Bar Mitzvahthat came with the instructions “dress to impress.” What the heck does that mean? I asked several friends what they would be wearing and for the most part, they were hopeless as I was. The hostess (you know who you are Kelli) was of no help at all.

Hanging with the girls in my LBD

Reaching into the closet of doom, I somehow managed to only try on one garment. I studied several items in the closet, but in the end decided that it is always safe to wear a LBD. Luckily I have several (years of retail do have their benefits) and had an idea which one I wanted to wear.

With the dress out of the way, I only changed shoes twice from sling-back Chanel pumps to strappy sandals and back again. The neckline does not call for a necklace, so earrings and a cocktail ring were the accessories of choice for the evening.

Maybe I should just learn to trust my intuition. I enjoy dressing others, why should it be difficult to clothe myself? Chances are that I will awaken tomorrow and start the ritual all over again regardless what I tell myself. Whether or not anyone notices, I want to look good for my own sake.

What crazy morning rituals do you go through on a regular basis? Do you find it easy to choose your wardrobe? If so, how do you do it? Please share your thoughts and stories.

 

 

This entry was published on October 15, 2012 at 7:07 pm. It’s filed under Personal Brand, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “what should I wear?

  1. It depends on the day… If I plan ahead it is easier… Otherwise I try on a couple of things and dash. 🙂

Leave a Reply

