Miriam Gomberg

10 factors composing an awkward moment

What does it take to compose an awkward moment? Do you embarrass easily? Perhaps, like me, you are you hard to fluster. If I am willing to talk to anyone about practically any subject, how could I become distressed from anyone’s words or actions?

looking awkward

memories of awkwardness

Just because I am candid and honest, doesn’t mean I don’t ever blush from embarrassment. How many of these scenarios can you relate to?

  1. exited public restroom with toilet paper stuck to my shoe
  2. worse yet, exited public restroom with skirt tucked into my tights (oops)
  3. inadvertently stretched and yawned loudly in the middle of a lecture
  4. fell asleep at the movies and either started snoring, drooling or both
  5. had uncontrollable gas while surrounded by people on all sides (best to have dog nearby to blame)
  6. couldn’t recall someone’s name when she clearly remembered mine
  7. spilled coffee all over shirt while on way to work
  8. woke up not knowing where I am or how I got there (OK, this one hasn’t happened in YEARS)
  9. friend/spouse/family member mistook something I said for something dirty
  10. violently sneezed in a library or somewhere else that is supposed to be quiet

spotting a trend here…

Something these factors all have in common is they are mostly uncontrollable. I find it amusing that it is the irrepressible that embarrasses me most. It somehow makes no sense that I would become agitated from things beyond my grasp but there it is.

I’ve repeatedly admitted that I cry easily (smearing makeup, runny nose, etc) trip over my own feet, and refer to myself as Mimi the lobster queen. I am impatient, have a potty mouth, as well I’m impulsive (at times anyway) and stubborn as the day is long. I have no problem owning any of these attributes, as they are largely brought on by choice.

personal growth through awkwardness

As a child, I was tall, lanky, big footed and completely awkward. I was extremely shy and would walk with my eyes averted so I would not have to engage others. Calling people on the phone was terrifying because I was afraid of sounding stupid.

I feared trying new things and meeting new people. Embarrassment came easily to me then. Since childhood, I have realized the beauty in imperfection. Thankfully I outgrew this uneasy phase blossoming into the self-assured MBA mermaid I am today.

tag! it’s your turn

What are the ingredients for your awkward moment? Please share your thoughts and stories about what you find embarrassing.

This entry was published on October 31, 2012 at 12:55 am. It’s filed under Personal Brand and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “10 factors composing an awkward moment

  1. Hi there, I enjoyed reading your post. When I was younger my embarrassment was usually a result of my own awkward lack of confidence. Now, it comes about from my son’s natural ability to say the most honest and often hilarious things at very inappropriate times. But its an embarrassment that I, later, embrace with pride 🙂

    • Welcome Ria! I’m right there with you on the awkwardness. How old is your son? I used to tell my kids that it was my right as their mom to embarrass them freely.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. M

      • Thanks 🙂 My son is 4yr but I’m sure the day will come when I’ll embarrass him both intentionally and unintentionally.
        Look forward to reading more 🙂

  2. I think you named them all for me… 😆 If others come to mind, I’ll share.
    Thank you for checking in during the Hurricane… your kind wishes were appreciated!

Leave a Reply

