Miriam Gomberg

a Gomberg style X-mas

my little angel

my little angel

This week for my entry into Mama Kat’s Vlog prompt, I decided to get completely out of my comfort zone and take on a challenge. I was to describe a memorable Christmas.

why is it a challenge?

Well, for one thing, I am Jewish and did not grow up celebrating Christmas. Truthfully, it is a time of year I dread as visions of Santa, elves, stockings and other paraphernalia abound in all directions.

I have nothing against those who celebrate the holidays, but it is difficult being the only one in a room who does not believe in X-mas folklore (IE Santa Claus).

a memorable holiday

My forefront memory is one about my daughter Avery (now 21) when she was about 6 years old. Like her mom, Avery is blatantly honest and had no qualms explaining to her friends that there was no such thing as Santa.

Talk about embarrassing moments! Avery’s honesty was not shameful, but was it really her place to ruin it for the other kids. Realistically, it is not her responsibility, but as I learned, it is OK to believe in things that aren’t necessarily real.

A typical Christmas for our family includes skiing, movies, and of course Chinese food. Working in retail, X-mas has always been a day for me to relax after a crazy busy season. This year, I am considering seeing Les Miserables (opening X-mas day).

What does the holiday season mean for you? Share your thoughts and stories.

Happy Holidays!

This entry was published on December 18, 2012 at 10:15 pm. It’s filed under Memories..., VLOG and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “a Gomberg style X-mas

  1. were seeing les mis on xmas too! avery is so grown up; i can’t believe i changed her diapers.
    we are so old now!

  2. Nothing like a good cry at the movies. Too bad you aren’t here, because we could do a sing along. Avery will be 22 in Feb (geez!) and graduates from college in May. Where the heck did the time go Chrissy? Thanks for stopping by my blog xox

  3. Looks like the video is set to private so I can’t see it, but I think I’d be just as embarrassed if my kids were THE kid that told eveyone about Santa! Although…my kids WAS the kids who told everyone about the tooth fairy. Whoops!

  4. Hahaha I love the double whammy: Mom spills the beans about the tooth fairy.

  5. I love your vlog… You are steady and fun on them… As for the holidays, it means a lot of things to me; complicated is one… and then fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

