Miriam Gomberg
photo-27-300x225

8 factors of the haunting truth

When you open your closet, what kind of skeletons fall out?

My closet is way more scary than anything that could haunt it

I have so much stuff in my closet, that I would not be surprised to see a skeleton tumble to the floor as I search for my favorite shoes. Which brings me to this week’s blog prompt from Mama Kat about what is haunting me now.

Merriam-Webster defines Haunt as: “to have a disquieting or harmful effect on.” What actions or behaviors do I take part in that do/will haunt me?

where do I begin?

I would be lying if I said that nothing ever haunted me. I don’t think I am being followed by some supernatural spirit (who must be extremely bored to follow me) and my house is too new to be haunted. Yep, it is definitely behaviors that torment me. Maybe haunting is a manifestation of my deepest fears?

Some things that possibly haunt me are:

  1. I’m not as cool as you think I am. Don’t laugh!
  2. I am not fooling anyone when I sneak recent purchases into the house by tearing up the receipt and throwing the items in the closet (along with all the skeletons) while you are not looking.
  3. I don’t call my family: mom, dad, sister, etc. enough. Does this mean I will die alone with (gulp) a house full of cats?
  4. Devouring that chocolate bar while driving still constitutes eating it.
  5. Someone will figure out that I have no idea what I am doing. Self-doubt is a major haunt for me.
  6. My inability to cook. That can haunt me as I continue eating crap found in the house that can be quickly heated then served.
  7. My complete disregard for ensuring Sam had a Bar Mitzvah. He might be OK with it, but trust me, as he turns 15, it definitely haunts me.
  8. My lack of presence.

Funny that all of these (and probably others) things may come back to haunt me, but it doesn’t seem to stop me anyway.  These are all within my control. Although, whenever I cook, everyone opens all the windows because it is a given that I will burn something.  Is that normal? Should I care? The only thing that really frightens me is the thought of being alone with a bunch of cats.

ooh, scary…

How about living in fear of being haunted? I definitely have issues. Heck, we all have things/behaviors/past-lives/cats  that haunt us.  What haunts you? How do you deal with it; head on or  by stuffing it in the closet. Maybe it is the closet that haunts me. Hmm… Just a thought. Share your best haunting stories.

This entry was published on January 10, 2013 at 9:03 am. It’s filed under Featured Articles, Personal Brand and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “8 factors of the haunting truth

  1. I can totally relate to not calling my relatives often enough! I don’t know why I don’t, but, I just don’t! Hmm!

    Stopping by from Mama Kat’s link up, have a great day!

    Lacey @ And They Call Me Mommy

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Welcome Lacey! Glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t call. Sometimes I get so busy that I just don’t think of it. Other times, it is purely laziness. Thanks for stopping by. M

  2. I think I do a little of both (head on dealing and closet stuffing) with my haunts. Food is a big one that I’d rather stuff in the closet…I can totally justify eating chocolate, ice cream, etc etc, even when there’s not a good reason at all!

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Welcome Kecia! I think food haunts a lot of us. I can see it now when a giant bowl of popcorn or ice cream follows me around the house like a spirit. LOL Thanks for stopping by.

  3. WHAT? Throwing a chocolate bar down my gullet while driving down the highway counts? Next you’re going to tell me that the 2L of Coke with ice in the cupholder beside me counts too. Crap…

    🙂

    *clickin in from MamaKat*

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Ha! I like to think that if I am in motion (car being included) and no one I know sees me, it doesn’t count. It’s kinda like the saying that if a tree falls and no one sees it, did it happen? Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Driving calories count? Crap! My closet also haunts me; the ghost of pant sizes past lives in there. (Sigh)

  5. If we’re talking haunting here, then car food is merely spectral evidence and therefore not admissible in court. Or anywhere else, including one’s tuchus or thighs. Oh, and #5 haunts me as well – smoke and mirrors, baby. Smoke and mirrors.

Leave a Reply

