Miriam Gomberg
IMG_0582-300x234

busted but never grounded

Tell us about a time you were grounded…what did you do? This week’s writing prompt from Mama Kathad me stumbling down memory lane. Was I ever really punished for anything? How long did it last? Could I get out of it by crying?

silly teenage Mim

The memories are murky at best. As a kid, I was definitely high maintenance. However, I sprouted wings and a halo during my teen years. I was the good girl who never really did anything bad. Or at least, I owned my mischief rarely making a million zillion excuses for my behavior.

  a mischievous deed

Recalling the past, people may have thought I was the good girl, but I surely had a bad girl streak.  When I was about 15 years old and a sophomore in high school, my parents left town for a few days. Laura and I remained in the care of an au pair to keep us out of trouble.

Of course, as soon as my friends found out that mom and dad were out of town, they saw it as the perfect venue for a small get together. No biggie. Just a small gathering of friends listening to music and perhaps drinking a beer or two. Was I really that naive to think a party would stay under control? Yep, sure was.

By the end of the day, I think everyone knew about the party. By the next day, people from neighboring high schools as well as some university students were also on the invite list. Drinking a beer turned into a kegger in no time at all. Fortunately, I lived in a ginormous house with a huge basement that would be perfect for a party.

party over here!

There was only one tiny flaw in this plan; my parents had no idea I was about to become party master for the evening. I was unaccustomed to lying so I decided to call at their hotel, filling them in on some (albeit few) details. The convo went something like this:

-hi mom/dad

um I wanted to let you know that I am having a few of my friends over tonight for a small party.

they should start arriving in a few minutes. I just thought I would let you know…

Such a good daughter! Because it was no longer behind their backs, there should have been no problem. Right? Ha! Nice try silly teenager. Well in any case, it was too late for them to say no. Conflict avoided for the moment.

Did I mention I lived in a gated community? Didn’t think so. The guard called my house to ensure I was expecting company. As the sea of headlights flooded the street, my heart was racing. Holy crap! How many people knew about this?

five minutes later…

Teens were parking all over the small private road. They were in neighbor’s driveways, lawns, or wherever else they could find to stop. After opening the doors for the guests, I swallowed hard as a policeman followed behind a bunch of kids. OOPS. Guess I didn’t see that coming (silly teenager does it again).

The house quickly emptied and the police left me with a warning but no citation (crying may have worked after all). I remember being concerned about what kind of punishment awaited from my parents. It must not have been that bad, because I can’t recall ever being grounded for this incident or any other.

rather be lucky than good

Was (am) I a a spoiled brat who could (can) get away with anything? Maybe it was all just dumb luck that nothing was broken or stolen from the house during the party. When they came home, it was as if nothing ever happened.

Most of my teenage exploits involved driving with a girlfriend in nothing but a bra and panties or hopping a fence and swimming in different pools wearing the same bra/panty set as when driving. Hmm…Maybe it is really all about the underwear?

Have you ever been grounded? Did you have crazy keggers at your house only to have them busted by the police? Did (do) you drive around in your undies looking for trouble? Share your stories about your best teenage exploits.

This entry was published on January 24, 2013 at 8:06 am. It’s filed under Memories... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “busted but never grounded

  1. I was always lucky enough to attend the keggers at other people’s houses. I may have learned most of my teenage lessons from 1980s brat pack movies, but it certainly kept me out of trouble most of the time. Ahh, teenage years…soo not looking forward to them with my own girls!

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Don’t you just love 80’s coming of age movies? I bought all of them to share with my daughter when she became a teenager. February she will be 22. Avery was a much better teenager than I ever was. Chalk it up to luck again.

  2. Great story. Great idea to call your parents like that!

  3. What a great story… My memories of being grounded are foggy as I lived a pretty restricted life. BTW, please could you add a recent posts column to your sidebar? It would make navigation so much easier… Also, I suppose I should copy every comment I make before submitting as your captcha deletes my comments each time I add a wrong letter or number. Oy Vey!!! 😦
    Sorry to bring it up again. Hope you understand the limitations.
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

