Miriam Gomberg
IMG_0587-200x300

going to college

Wow! this is the second post this week about going to college. Hmm… Maybe I need a new category. Just a thought. Random, I know, but there is a point to all this. Mama Kat’s wekly Vlog prompt is: Did you go to college? Why or why not? Where did you go? What do you miss? Would you change anything?

Kelli and I receive our graduate degrees on the same day

Kelli and I receive our graduate degrees on the same day

the short answer is…

Do I  have a short answer for anything? Not likely.  Yes, I went to college. I attended University of Nevada where I got a BS in Health Science.

However, it’s a bit more complicated than that. as an 18 year old freshman, I didn’t understand what it took to complete an education Streams took me meandering all over as I got married at 20 (yeah I know it’s young. Try telling that to a 19 year old though), had kids, got divorced, remarried, ran business, closed business, went back to school, etc.

Here is my Vlogging entry

I can’t say I would change anything as it is all part of the journey. What is your experience with education? Did you go to college? If not, do you want to? If so, what is stopping you from achieving your dream?

This entry was published on May 22, 2013 at 5:34 am. It’s filed under Featured Articles, VLOG and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “going to college

  1. Good for you! You are inspiring. I went and didn’t finish with one semester left. I went back 10 years or so later and didn’t finish again (got preggo with #3). I may yet finish! I don’t know if it matters to me anymore. When I figure that out, I’ll decide.

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Tamara, whether or not you use your degree is irrelevant. It changed who I am and I was able to prove to myself that I can see something to completion. With only one semester left, that would drive me nuts. Believe me, I understand the difficulties in being a mom and making time for myself. Whatever decision you make, know that it is the best decision for the time. M

  2. You are inspiring! I have been thinking about taking some more classes, and I don’t want my age to stop me! (I’m 44 right now.) I graduated from college with an elementary ed major, and then I received my Masters in Education in 1996, but the field of education is constantly changing. You must be so proud of your kids!

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Thanks Ginny! Maybe adding another masters degree will do the trick. One of my girlfriends has 2 and keeps getting certifications for different things that relate to her career. She is now 46. I am so proud right now of my daughter who graduated last week. i still get emotional just thinking about it. M

  3. 1. Yes, I went to college, Missouri State, where my son will be attending this fall. I finished in the requisite 4 years. If someone else would pay for it, I would go back and get another degree or a Master’s or something. 2. You have very pretty teeth.

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Dyanne, still giggling about the teeth. Thank my orthodontist, Dr Pitts who is amazing. Truthfully the only reason I kept going and got the MBA was that my work paid $5000 tuition reimbursement which exactly paid for the degree. I don’t understand how people don’t take advantage of programs like that. Again, congrats to your son.

  4. Good for you for going back and congratulations on your graduation 🙂

    I did go to college but quit 4 classes shy of my bachelors in psychology because I got pregnant and had the worst all day sickness ever. Actually had one of my psych teachers recommend it. I have thought about going back and have even gone as far as to meet with my counselor at the university, but just have not been motivated enough yet. I am sure I will finish up one day. Of course now I need like 6-8 classes to finish because they changed the curriculumn

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Jenny, last I checked, 6-8 classes is 2 semesters. My husband gave me a 50/50 chance of showing up in class (terribly nervous) so he took me to my first class and sat down with me until it was over. Sometimes he can be so sweet.

  5. I did the college thing but only to become a nurse and find a husband. 😉

    Congrats on finishing your degree. That’s so awesome.

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      JUST A NURSE????? Are you kidding? Do you have any idea how competitive it is getting into nursing school these days. AND you came out with a husband as well. Not to shabby 😀

  6. That’s very inspiring, good for you!
    To answer your questions:
    -No. I didn’t go to college.
    -No. I still don’t want to go to college.
    -I don’t regret it at all and I’m so glad that I don’t have a bunch of student loans to pay off! 🙂
    IF I were to go it would be because I’m considering becoming a lactation consultant in the future (when my kids are older) which requires a Health Sciences Education. Don’t have the money (or the energy) for it right now, though.

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Hi Jenn! Sounds like you have your hands full. You are right in that student loans stink.

      How old are your kids? I used a lactation expert with my daughter who was born 7 weeks early and it made a huge difference.

      Thanks so much for stopping by. M

Leave a Reply

