Miriam Gomberg
wordfoto-225x300

upon first light

This post is inspired by Mama Kat’s weekly writing prompt. 5.) Write down the first sight, sound, smell, and sensation you experienced on waking up today. Pick the one you’re most drawn to, and write.

wake up sensations

wake up sensations

I am all about sensations. Maybe it’s part of being a big picture kind of girl. Sights and sounds abound as I flutter open my eyelids each day.  It is hard for me to single out one unless it is blaring at me. But, as always, I am up for a challenge.

off to sleep…

With this in mind, I settled onto my side and drifted off into a peaceful sleep. Two hours later, I awoke the first time. Glancing at the alarm clock I realized it was only 12:30am. A few moments later, I was dozing once more.

Four hours later, I stirred a second time. URGHHHH! Would I be able to focus on a sensation in a couple of hours or be too exhausted to think of anything? Laying there on my back, my mind was up and running. I was having the dreaded nightly conversation in my head.

Me: Awake again?  What time is it now? Four-thirty? Really?? Should I lay here and try falling asleep again or should I go pee? Pee or sleep? Sleep or pee? Can I do both?

sleep or pee? that is the question.

Why is this a nightly occurrence with me? As I toss and turn pondering whether I should rise, I wake up a little bit more. Eventually, every night the same decision is made; pee then sleep. For the most part, I am now able to avoid this internal discussion by simply getting up and peeing rather than thinking. Problem avoided. The end. Well, that is if I feel like getting up anyway.

After approximately five minutes slowly waking up, my feet found the floor and I staggered sleepily to the bathroom. Now I can sleep until 6:30 when my husband’s alarm sounds. It was the last day of school for Sam until August. Maybe I will sleep in during the summer (not likely).

the alarm

How are you with alarm clocks? I have this completely annoying habit of waking up at least five minutes before the alarm goes off. What is up with that? I swear it doesn’t matter what time it is set for. It is a foregone conclusion that I will be awake and turn it off before it rings.

This morning for some reason, his alarm didn’t ring and when I looked at the clock it was 6:35am rather than 6:30. So much for my nearly perfect track record. I’m thinking I didn’t wake early because Robert’s phone died and the alarm wasn’t going off anyway. A completely fair assumption.

sensations…

Now I am officially if not partially awake. What is the first thing I think? Why the heck didn’t the alarm go off?? Will it mean getting Sam out the door in a rush. One thing for sure, Sam doesn’t rush well. Would I go straight to the gym after he got on the bus or lounge around for a few minutes? My day was unfolding in a flash as my eyes adjusted to the morning light.

Physically speaking, what did I feel upon waking up? I sleep mostly on my side with my arm stretched out under my head. Does this sleeping position say anything about me? Curious.

Back to the point. Because I slept with my arm stretched out under my head, I woke up with a sore arm. Not an acute pain, but a nagging dull throb that begged me to flip onto my other side and give that arm time off.

Would you prefer a scene with music and laughter? I could make something up about the wonder of birds singing and the sun warming my skin, but it would be utter crap. I’m much more of a realist. Well sometimes, I am a realist. When I’m not wearing a mermaid tail I can be a realist (sometimes).

I didn’t forget the part about the first smell of the morning. I have a terrible sense of smell. After years of allergies, colds and eventual sinus infections, I don’t smell anything before blowing my nose in the morning. TMI?

lesson learned: sometimes it’s better not to take the challenge

I am a true joy to behold first thing in the morning. Someday maybe I will learn my lesson and keep morning rituals to myself. That is one of the pleasures of having almost no inner monologue. Nothing is off-limits.

What are the first things you notice upon first light? Like me, are you overly concerned about the upcoming day? Are you hungry and thinking of breakfast? Must you dash to work at an early hour so that you really don’t think of anything at all? Share your morning insights.

This entry was published on June 6, 2013 at 5:24 am. It’s filed under Memories..., Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “upon first light

  1. Yeah, I don’t think noting the first sensations of the morning would be very pretty at my house, either. And I do the wake-up-right-before-the-alarm thing, too. What gives with that?

  2. I struggle with insomnia and I am constantly having that “pee or sleep?” debate in my head. Usually I choose pee because it will make it easier to sleep.
    When I wake up in the morning it is because someone woke me up. I’m usually thinking how much I want to go back to bed. I am not a morning person.

    Here from Mama Kat’s.

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Funny but I don’t remember the whole pee cycle thing until I had my first child. Does this mean I can blame my oldest daughter for this? I now have this funky UP bracelet that tracks my sleep (amongst other things). I wake up an average of 3 times per night. No wonder I feel like such a grouch.

  3. We SO need to go out together – I think we may actually be sort of the same person. Sleep or pee dilemma? Check. Every flippin’ night. Can’t function until morning sinus clear? Check. Strange pain in some body part from weird sleeping? Check. Why the hell didn’t the alarm go off THIS time? Check.

    Laughed all the way through this one – awesome.

    • miriamgomberg on said:

      Lisa, I keep trying to tell you that we are so similar it’s scary. I bet if we put our minds to it, we could do some mental telepathy stuff and really screw with everyone. 😀

  4. Usually the first thing I do upon waking is start swinging…at whoever (usually my husband) who wakes me up. I’m so not a morning person, at all!

Leave a Reply

