Miriam Gomberg
more fun than most kids

top 10 things I miss about being a kid

accountability?

OK, so I’ve been a little less frequent with posts. Preferring to consistently post twice per week, I have fallen short. Yes, I do hold myself accountable, and no I am not going to write extra posts to make up for the deficiency.

kid pics of me and Laura

kid pics of me and Laura

Responsibilities pile up and before I know it’s time for bed. I hate letting people (even myself) down. Whether it concerns, work, play or something between, I like feeling productive. Can I recall a time before the world sat heavily on my shoulders?

enter harp playing memory-inducing music as I ponder

This week’s writing prompt from Mama Kat is to list 10 things I miss about being a kid. Hmmm…here it goes.

top 10 things I miss the most

  1. sucking my thumb. Bet ya didn’t know I was a serial thumbsucker until 8 years old. I remember the comfort and calm feeling emanating from the tip of my thumb. It’s a seriously long story as to why I ceased and will have to wait till later.
  2. Barbie playtime. While other kids dragged around a blanket or teddy bear, I had this weird Barbie doll with red hair I carried everywhere. Having no idea when I gave up the obsession (if ever), I was glad when my daughter Avery picked up the habit of playing Barbies.
  3. playing outside. Growing up on top of a hill made it difficult but not impossible to find playmates for Barbies or other games. TV only had 3 channels (Geez I feel old) and it was way more fun to invent games outside.
  4. someone else cooking. We ate dinner together at 6pm most nights and I never had to be the one cooking. In an attempt to attain personal growth, I decided to cook dinner at least 4 nights per week. It had been 3 weeks so far. Let’s see how it continues…
  5. scaring Laura. For some unknown reason, Laura was afraid of mountains. Whenever we drove from Santa Barbara to Solvang, we had to climb. This made the perfect opportunity to frighten my sister by commenting that we were now in the mountains. Hehehe.
  6. jacks. I’m not the most coordinated person on earth but I was pretty good playing jacks. Splayed out on the playground bouncing that silly little ball and scooping up the little silver trinkets. Yes, definitely miss that one.
  7. working in my parents store. It might not be considered a real job, but I helped out at our general store located in Solvang (hence the drive up into the mountains on a regular basis). Payment was a doll. This actually helped build a strong work ethic that continues to this day.
  8. Maria. My parents found her before I was born, and they thought she was beaten. As a result, she hated everyone except the immediate family. Maria barked like mad from under the bed whenever anyone came over. No one could get her out if she wasn’t ready.
  9.  wearing frilly dresses. One memory in particular was shopping with my grandmother for a fancy dress. I don’t remember the occasion, but I remember feeling like a princess in a patterned party dress with white patent leather shoes. i thought I was hot stuff.
  10. imagining what life would be like as an adult. As a kid, the possibilities seemed endless. What would I look like? Who would I marry? Would I have kids of my own? I don’t remember what I wanted to be when I grew up and hope I lived up to my childhood expectations.

tag! you’re it!!

Certainly there are things I miss about being a kid. There are aspects of childhood I am glad passed. I was terribly shy as a child and suffered from a fairly low self-esteem.

Skinny and awkward, people told me I would come into my own as a young adult. They were right. The reality is  I’m happy in my adult body and grown up life.

more fun than most kids

more fun than most kids

Just because I am an adult, doesn’t mean I can’t act like a kid. I am a mermaid, vamp, zebra princess who loves Hello Kitty and Barbie.

What do you miss about being a kid? Can you name 10? More? Less? Share some of the things you miss most.

 

 

 

 

This entry was published on October 16, 2013 at 10:31 pm. It’s filed under Featured Articles, Memories..., Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

16 thoughts on “top 10 things I miss about being a kid

  1. I absolutely agree about someone else cooking and playing outside! My BEST memories of childhood involve me running around our farm for hours and hours at a time (completely unsupervised, by the way) getting muddy and playing with sticks and rocks and whatever else I could find. Sometimes Mama would say “Go play. I don’t want to see you until dinnertime.” I wish someone would tell me that now 😉

    • How cool that you grew up on a farm! When my parents traveled my sister and I would go to a friend’s house who had a huge lemon orchard. We ran around for hours there chasing each other. I probably had a barbie in one hand and a stick in the other. M

  2. Oooh did you have the mermaid barbie too?

  3. I grew up in South Florida

    I miss Sunday dinner at the formal dining room table
    I miss playing football and baseball with my buddies at all hours
    I miss riding our bikes for miles on new adventures
    I miss having acres and acres of unspoiled woods in my back yard to play in and explore
    I miss swimming for hours in pool and lakes, exploring the bottoms and chasing fish
    I miss going to Dolphin football games with my dad.
    I miss my old house and having my whole family there the most

  4. So many less responsibilities! We had it so good. Remind me not to go into the mountains with you. I have a feeling Laura was afraid for a reason!

  5. Playing outside …
    Playing, period …
    Reading and reading and reading …
    And – absolutely agree with you on this one – someone else cooking (delicious) meals every night!

    • Funny how hard it was to get my son to play outside. He was much more interested in playing video games. I also loved reading. Judy Blume was one of my favorite as a kid. Thanks for stopping by. M

  6. How amazing the difference between what we imagined life would be like as an adult and the reality of it really is? And other people cooking AND cleaning AND laundering AND everything!

  7. Saturday morning cartoons – they are SO not the same as they were when we were growing up. Saturday morning just seemed to stretch on forever. Summer reading club was another. Kidzilla did one this summer for the first time and it was OK, but not nearly as exciting as I remember as a kid. Maybe it was to her, but I didn’t feel like they did the excitement level very well. I miss Sunday dinners at my Grandparents’ house. The extended family doesn’t get together regularly like we did years ago for lots of reasons. There was just something special about those.

    • I totally forgot about the cartoons I watched as a kid. Saturday morning wouldn’t have been the same without them. I have no idea how my children survived without them. Thanks for sharing Lisa.

  8. Someone else cooking….YES!

Leave a Reply

