Miriam Gomberg
here I am

indescribable me

3.) Hi, my name is ______ and I am a _______

here I am

here I am

This week’s writing prompt from Mama Kat had me in a quandary. I liked the idea but didn’t think it possible to describe me in one sentence. Seeing this as a challenge, it was irresistible.

After pondering the idea for a whole 30 seconds, I decided to create a list of possible answers.

yay! it’s list time!

  1. Hi, my name is Miriam and I am a Leo. Does that actually characterize me? Sure it tells you my birthday is somewhere between the end of July and mid-August. Not sure if it is a great descriptive of my sparkling personality.
  2. Hi, my name is Mim and I am a bad cook. Mim is what my parents called me. Cooking is not my thing. Whew! Glad you know that about me now.
  3. Hi, my name is Mimi and I am an exhibitionist. This should be a surprise to no one.
  4. Hi, my name is Mimi the lobster queen and I am a mermaid. If this is the first time you have read my blog, you might not have figured it out yet. It’s ok as it took me more than 40 years to discover.
  5. Hi, my name is Miss Mimi Cupcakes and I am a Hootchy Kootchy Girl. Welcome to my newest gig. I love dancing and performing vintage cabaret reviews and plan to do it forever and ever and ever.
  6. Hi, my name is Miriam and I am a professional woman with and advanced business degree. Bet you thought I was all fluff and marshmallows. Underneath all the sparkles is a serious leader.
  7. My name is Mim and I am a bonafide pumpkin mutilator. My knife skills are sorely lacking. Perhaps this is one reason I don’t like cooking. Maybe it is because I’m a leftie. Just sayin’.
  8. My name is Mimi and I am an empathetic listener. There I go getting all mushy again. One reason I am an effective leader is that I relate well to my peers and subordinates. I am a firm believer that my job is to make theirs easier.

what’s in a label?

When I originally looked at the prompt, I envisioned one of those stickers you wear at a convention or meeting where you know few if any other people.

One of those awkward moments is when you look at someone you just met and can’t remember her name. Thank goodness for those stickers. What would we do without them?

indignant mimi

Next I thought how can I pigeonhole myself with a label? I spend my days defying what others think I should be in favor for who I am. I almost wrote this entire post about why we need to label people in the first place.

Why does it matter if I am a Leo, left-handed or can’t cook? These are all attributes but in themselves do not adequately describe me. Once I got off my high horse, I realized how boring and/or contrived this post would be and quickly ditched the idea.

mim, mimi, miriam

Who am I? Which name or nickname fits me the best? I am different things to different people. I may be your boss, friend, parent, child, student, or poster child for middle-aged woman going through a “mid life crisis” (well according to Sam).

I am all of these, and none of them. I am more than what I could possibly describe in  one post. The great thing about life is that I continually reinvent myself and discover new aspects.

If you were to describe yourself on one of those stickers that says, ” hi my name is…” what would you write? How do you think others would describe you? Are the two similar or worlds apart? Share your thoughts and try filling in the blanks for yourself.

 

This entry was published on October 30, 2013 at 11:29 pm. It’s filed under Personal Brand, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “indescribable me

  1. I love what you say about being different things to different people. I definitely think I would be described very differently depending on who you asked about me.

    • I wonder how much would change, and how much consistency there is depending on who you asked. That may be a topic for a post. Hmmm. Inspiration abounds. Thanks Maryjoe for stopping by. xo

  2. Wow, girl, you are diverse and multi-faceted. Love it. I think the most succinct way to describe myself would be using my MBTI type (INTJ), or my birth order (oldest child), but all of your descriptions are way more fun!

  3. What a great post!

  4. Love all your nicknames and I especially love that you’re involved with Hootchy Kootchy. You are SO perfect for it! What fun!!

  5. Love this, Mim. I love the spin you took with this and completely agree. We are so much more than any one name or nickname or label. We are all such complex beings. Knowing that all – and yet none – of these things define us is completely. Maybe my favorite post of yours ever.

    • Wow Lisa! When I read your comment, I got a tear in my eye (no big surprise here). That was such a touching compliment. Labels are for produce at at the grocery store. Thanks so much for stopping by. xo

Leave a Reply

