Miriam Gomberg
hello

does anyone call anymore?

How attached are you to your phone? Mine is nearly always, in my pocket, purse or hand. At night it rests (recharges actually) next to me on the nightstand.

hello

hello


back in the day…

I must be old because I vividly remember a time before cell phones. People actually spoke on the phones as texting was not invented yet.

When the phone rang, I ran down the hall to answer. This is before before cordless phones too (can you believe it?).

There was this total sense of urgency to find out who was on the other end of the line. Was it a boy? One of my girlfriends? Whoever it was, I never seemed to run out of things to say.

As a teen, I habitually hid in bed with a blanket over my head to muffle my voice. Most nights, I was up talking with friends until the wee hours. What the heck was sooooo important  to chat until 4am?

Geez! I sound like a curmudgeon who rants about walking to school in pouring rain or snow uphill both ways. Time to reel it back in.

back to the present

Anyways, back to the twenty first century. The reason I bring up the good(?) old days is because as often as I spoke on the phone, I abhor it now.

Yeah, I am a true extrovert. This doesn’t mean I don’t have an irrational fear of talking to people on the phone. Luckily caller ID makes it easy to screen calls.

I yap on the phone as little as possible. That is why god invented texting. There is something comforting about text messaging. Hmm…I feel a list coming on. Woot!

why I prefer text messaging

  • carry on various conversations at once
  • a certain sense of anonymity without using my voice
  • those cool emoticons 😀
  • conversations continue at my own pace.
  • copy and paste great ideas/quotes/whatever
  • gives my fingers something to do
  • easy to delete conversations I am no longer interested in
  • don’t have to hide under blanket for privacy

I’m sure there are more reasons why texting is preferred to speaking on the telephone. Maybe you can add a few.

who still calls?

Most people who call my cell are either telemarketers or other unsavory characters. Rules are, if I don’t recognize the number, I won’t answer.

When searching the call log, it is most likely either my mother, sister, husband, or kids who call. Also there is the random call from Sam’s school or confirmation for an appointment somewhere.

Work rarely calls. For the most part, I remain available and welcome communication. Coworkers shoot me a text (thank you) rather than call me with most questions or comments.

your turn

What is your favorite form of communication?Are you a talker, texter both or neither? Share your thoughts and stories.

Admittedly, voice texting is fun. I get the best of both worlds. Also it is entertaining seeing how Siri translates my voice. The results can be hilarious.

inspiration

This post was inspired by Mama Kat’s weekly writing prompt 4.) Who was the last person to call you…what did they want this time?

Last text was from Sam. As soon as he though I was off work he pleaded for pizza. Seriously, the kid is 6’5″ and weighs nothing. He eats everything in sight and begs me to bring junk food and crap daily. Erff.

This entry was published on January 23, 2014 at 6:04 am. It’s filed under Featured Articles, Memories..., Personal Brand and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

14 thoughts on “does anyone call anymore?

  1. I agree, times have changed. I seldom get a call. Both calls and texts are usually from my kids. Back in the day. . . . the land line phone was a great way to keep up with what your teens were doing. A little eavesdropping kept me right in the loop. Now a days cell phones make it hard to know what is going on in a kids life. That little cell phone aids in the separation between teens and their parents. kelley at the road goes ever ever on

    • Kelley, I never thought of it that way but definitely see your point. The only one who would eavesdrop was my sister because we shared a teen line. My son uses the cell like a leash. He texts over and over and over until I either turn the phone off or answer. Thanks for stopping by. M

  2. I think so many of us hate the phone now and only answer when we know the number. I’m working on embracing the phone in 2014 and handwritten notes too. Rockin it old school this year. Fun to find your blog and post from Mama Kat!

  3. I am exactly like you. I carry my cell phone around with me in my pocket. All day. At work, at dinner, at the store. And charge it on my nightstand while I sleep. I respond to text messages immediately. Which makes it hard for me to understand why some of my friends don’t respond for days. Is it because they secretly despise me? No, I think it’s because they have better things to do. Lol! I’m on the cusp of disconnecting my home phone. I was, anyway. Until my 15 year old daughter said she likes to talk on a real phone instead of a cell. Hmmm. Progress? Great post!

    • Maureen, we disconnected the land line about 6 years ago and never looked back. The only time I don’t answer texts quickly is when I am either
      a. in the shower
      b. sleeping
      c. working (can’t keep it on me when on the sales floor)
      Otherwise, it’s game on!

  4. I’m in my early 30s and still have a landline and I rarely use my cell phone. I’m a stay at home mom at the moment and when I was working I did use my cell phone more frequently but I’ve really never gotten into texting. I do enjoy facebook chat though and email. I remember long conversations with my friends on the phone growing up. I kind of miss that.

    • Long conversations are best in person or on a phone (not by text). I also love using Skype with my friends who live far away. It makes me feel like they are in the next room instead of in another time zone.

      Texting came to me when my daughter was a teen. It was popular and if I wanted to communicate with her, she preferred it. Now, it’s mostly what I do too. M

  5. Loved your post and had me thinking back on my own experiences of communication. When I was young, our phone line was shared by 4 other households. So, if you picked up the phone to dial someone and heard someone on the line already, you knew to hang up. As a youngster, it was very tempting to listen in. Times have changed! I don’t like talking on the phone, but much of my day is filled with it. Kids! Love my kids! I still have a land line. But thank goodness I don’t have to share the line! I only carry an emergency cell phone when I travel. I don’t text. Yeah… I’m behind on technology. But’s that’s ok with me.

    • That is so cool that you had a party line! I would have been so tempted to spy on the neighbors. I totally understand your aversion to cell phones. They kinda act like a cordless leash. When my husband presented me with a cell, I didn’t want it. Now, I can’t imagine life without it. Funny how things change.

  6. I too prefer text messaging. That way I can get the answer to my question without waiting!

  7. I like both, but am definitely closer to the people I have actual phone conversations with. I’m not a fast texter so I’d much rather just hop on the phone and vent about my obnoxious husband. And I will always hold on to my land line. What happens if the power goes out and I my phone is dead and I don’t have the means to charge it? And then there’s an emergency or something…HOW WOULD I GET HELP? Definitely keeping that around forever.

    • Hmmmm….If your power is out and your phone is dead, I would probably ask to use one of my kids phones. I’m sure someone would help. Haven’t missed the landline in 10 years. Wow! does that make me progressive? Who knew?

Leave a Reply

