Ralph Waldo Emerson: Self Reliance Prompt #4

Travel by Chris Guillebeau

If we live truly, we shall see truly. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Not everyone wants to travel the world, but most people can identify at least one place in the world they’d like to visit before they die. Where is that place for you, and what will you do to make sure you get there?

(Author: Chris Guillebeau

I love traveling but rarely have time or money to go as often as I would like. I am very fortunate to have been an exchange student 4 times as a teenager (Japan, Germany, 2x in France). As often as possible I go someplace new. Right now, I am sitting in a hotel room in New Jersey (pretty exciting huh?) and tomorrow will spend the entire week in New York for a management class. This week will be full of fun and excitement!

So many places, so little time

Now, back to the prompt. One place I would love to visit is Australia. When I first read this prompt, I thought of the movie Priscilla, Queen of the Desert. I know it’s random, but there is a scene early in the movie where Hugo Weaving performed in a drag club. The song he was lip-synching is really what came to mind; I’ve never been to me by Charlene.

http://lyrics.stlyrics.com/lyrscroll.swf?page=http%3A//www%2Estlyrics%2Ecom/lyrics/mewithoutyou/iveneverbeentome%2Ehtm
Lyrics | Charlene – I’ve Never Been To Me lyrics

Charlene sings about going to Georgia (actually I’ve never been there myself), and California (born in California) and anywhere she could run… The point is that she traveled extensively, but she never really needed to go anywhere to discover herself. Part of self reliance is being content with what you have and where you are. Don’t get me wrong, travel is great fun, but it does not define who you are.

Lesson Learned: There is no place like home

Self reliance does not come easily. You can search for it your entire life. Dorothy didn’t realize there was no place like home until after she dragged her friends all over OZ and killed the Wicked Witch of the West. Why wait for a house to drop on you to realize that who you are is what is important, not where you have been?

7 thoughts on “Ralph Waldo Emerson: Self Reliance Prompt #4

  1. AnnaMuse says:

    How great that you got to travel so much as a teen. What a great mind expanding experience.

    And when I go to Italy next I’ll be sure to take ME along!

    Like

    1. miriamgomberg says:

      LOL. I am really glad I had such great opportunities as a kid. Travel was really important to me even then and I arranged each one of my trips through school, AFS or whatever. You can take ME anytime! Miriam

      Like

  2. magdis says:

    What is the lyrics to that song again….”Home is where you hang you hat”? Great writing, love it, let´s just find ourselves and come home!

    Like

    1. miriamgomberg says:

      Welcome Magdis! Exactly. Its funny because I read the prompt in the morning and was singing that song to myself the rest of the day. It’s kinda cheesy but true. Thanks for your comment. Miriam

      Like

  3. Michi says:

    Love it, Miriam. “I have never been to me”. We can travel far and away, but the most important journey is within. Looking forward to more writings. xo/Michi

    Like

  4. eof737 says:

    I love traveling too and have seen some amazing places but the bug beckons and I’d love to see more… wishing on my lotto wins. 🙂 I hope you are enjoying the #Trust30 prompts… I am. Also, thanks again for stopping by my blog.
    I will check in to read your posts. Enjoy your NY week and just in case, I wrote a post last week on things to do in NYC. Check it out.
    Best wishes,
    Elizabeth

    Like

    1. miriamgomberg says:

      Elizabeth, thanks for your comment. I love travel too and hope to go more aster I graduate in December. So far NY is a blast. I will check out your post on it. #trust30 has been great! Miriam

      Like

Leave a comment