Ralph Waldo Emerson: Self Reliance Prompt #5

Come Alive by Jonathan Mead

Life wastes itself while we are preparing to live. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

If you had one week left to live, would you still be doing what you’re doing now? In what areas of your life are you preparing to live? Take them off your To Do list and add them to a To Stop list. Resolve to only do what makes you come alive.

Bonus: How can your goals improve the present and not keep you in a perpetual “always something better” spiral?

(Author: Jonathan Mead)

I gave myself a day to think about this one. Carefuly planning my life, is not something I have done in the past. I tend to wing it and go with what feels comfortable. That was before: now there are places where I am preparing to live and places where I am already living. I PLAN  to move up the ladder of success in leadership/sales/customer experience. It would be easy to simply wish that I could do better in life and career.

What do I do?

In order to live this dream, I went back to school and am now completing an MBA while working full time and juggling a family. The importance of education for me is two-fold; it is something that creates value for me professionally. By achieving my MBA, I am proving to myself (and showing my kids as well) that I have what it takes to complete something important.

For the to-don’t list: I am still preparing for a career jump upon graduation, but as I am done in December, it is now time to take it to the next level. I have so far managed to not focus on any one direction, as I did not know exactly what I want to do with my degree. I am beginning to network around me and search more thoroughly.

What to do, who to be, how to get there? These are all questions I ask myself daily. It is time for some answers!

 

 

Leave a comment