Ralph Waldo Emerson: Self Reliance Prompt #6

No, I did not cook this

Dare to be bold by Matt Cheuvront

Our arts, our occupations, our marriages, our religion, we have not chosen, but society has chosen for us. We are parlour soldiers. We shun the rugged battle of fate, where strength is born. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Next to Resistance, rational thought is the artist or entrepreneurs worst enemy. Bad things happen when we employ rational thought, because rational thought comes from the ego. Instead, we want to work from the Self, that is, from instinct and intuition, from the unconscious.

A child has no trouble believing the unbelievable, nor does the genius or the madman. Its only you and I, with our big brains and our tiny hearts, who doubt and overthink and hesitate.” – Steven Pressfield, Do the Work

The idea of “being realistic” holds all of us back. From starting a business or quitting a job to dating someone who may not be our type or moving to a new place – getting “real” often means putting your dreams on hold.

Today, let’s take a step away from rational thought and dare to be bold. What’s one thing you’ve always wanted to accomplish but have been afraid to pursue? Write it down. Also write down the obstacles in your way of reaching your goal. Finally, write down a tangible plan to overcome each obstacle.

The only thing left is to, you know, actually go make it happen. What are you waiting for?

(Author: Matt Cheuvront)

Well, I got behind on the prompts due to my running around like crazy for my class in New York. In fact, I should probably be working on my final project (due this Friday) instead of attending to this post.

Reality, fear, rational thought; call it what you will. There is no question what happens (or doesn’t) when I let these get in my way. One thing I would like to do is to learn to cook.

Worst Cook in America?

Okay, I am probably not the worst cook in America, but pretty darn near the worst. I regularly burn things and as a result I rarely cook. As I try to eat healthier, it would be great for me to learn how to make a tasty meal that is also good for me. What is getting in the way? I have loads of excuses for why I can’t and don’t cook.

  1. I say that there is not time. When I am not working or studying, it is not unusual to find me sitting and playing solitaire or Angry Birds for hours at a time. Sometimes it feels good to participate in some sort of mind-numbing activity rather than to do something constructive with my time.
  2. What if my family doesn’t like what I make? There is that old fear thing again. It is amazing how many things I don’t do because I am fearful of rejection.
  3. I hate planning meals for every night of the week. Actually, I don’t like to plan at all in my personal life. So much has to run according to schedule that I fight the urge to plan things like grocery lists.
  4. It is easier to go out to eat, or open a box or can. Can you say LAZY!

Maybe after I graduate in December (there is still a little procrastination yet in me) I will enroll in a cooking class. Or rather than watching Food Network, I will pick up a recipe book and start trying. Bottom line is that it is time for me to let go of the excuses and start some action.

One thought on “Ralph Waldo Emerson: Self Reliance Prompt #6

  1. eof737 says:

    When you’re juggling many tasks, something has to give… eat out, order in; no worries. I’ll do same.
    Hope you are enjoying your NYC time. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment